I love football. I love both college and professional football, and I love that my team is 3-0 on the season right now. Which team you might ask? Well, the fact that I said 3-0 should limit it. Could it be the Patriots? The New England Patriots, standing at 3-0 after totally demolishing all of their opponents so far. Even in the midst of controversy of clepto-Belichick stealing play calls from other teams. This team seems to always have something up their sleeves to pull out victories even when it seems the odds are stacked against them. However, regardless of how much drama is pumped into a situation, when it comes right down to it, they have arguably the best quarterback in the league in Tom Brady, the best coach in the league in Belichick and some of the best role players out there. So on the field is a different world, a world owned by the Pats and one not soon to be destroyed by anybody else. But, no, it's not the Patriots. NEVER will it be the Patriots.
Who else then? How about the surprising Green Bay Packers? I mean, who thought they would be sitting at 3-0 right now? Look at them on paper. They have a quarterback who is probably drawing social security now and goes back to the nursing home every night to ice down after practice, and aside from him they have a whole host of young guys with little to no experience. What gives? Well, Grandpa Favre must be teaching the young guns a thing or two. Week three against San Diego, a team with some serious firepower, they had 405 yards of total offense, 363 of which were through the air. Brett is airing it out on almost every play. You would think other teams would recognize this and use it to their advantage. I mean seriously, how long can that arm hold out? I would say the number one reason this team is 3-0 right now is because they take care of the football. They don't turn it over, and when other teams turn it over to them, they take advantage of that for a score. Well, as much a Cinderella story as it is, nope, its not Green Bay either.
Dallas, no, but I do like what I am seeing out of Tony Romo. Pittsburgh? No, I think they are tough though. That defense is going to be very stingy all season. Oh, and Polamalu, CUT YOUR HAIR!
No, my team are the defending Super Bowl Champion Indianapolis Colts. Yes, last season was amazing for me. As I sat in front of my television weeping tears of joy over the comeback win against New England in the AFC championship, the hopes of a childhood dream were realized. Well, except for the fact that I wasn't playing in the games. I had literally waited my entire life for that moment, and winning the big one against Chicago was just as sweet.
This season may be a repeat. I think it is going to be VERY tough for them to put together a record like last season, and I think, yet again, that the road to the super bowl goes through New England and we are going to have to get a lot better before we can beat them. However, each week Indy has shown some improvement in one area or another. An encouraging thought considering their defense at this time a year ago was something a team of junior high girls could have scored on. In a tough game against Tennessee on the road Peyton & his ponies come through when it mattered most. That shows veteran leadership and poise from the champs and something that will benefit them greatly this season. Are the Colts primed to make a run at a second straight championship? I would say it is too early to tell, but, until they are beaten, I dare someone to say they aren't.
7 comments:
Well, since you dared, I'll take it. No way, are the Colts primed to take another Super Bowl. They barely squeaked by against Vince Young and the Titans, and then if it weren't for intercepting Matt Schaub twice last week, they'd be looking back at a loss to undoubtedly the worst NFL team of the last 5 years. I will say they have patched up that run defense a little, though it did look shaky against the Titans.
Your Colts avoid meeting a tough Pittsburgh team this season. But Week 9 will be the real test, when they face the unstoppable New England Patriots, with a revived Randy Moss being thrown to by one of the best in the business in Brady. Brady has a 141.8 passer rating, with an 80% completion rate! That, along with the two primary backs averaging close to 5 yds/carry will be too much for Indy to handle. Then in week 10 they have to travel to sunny San Diego, who in my opinion will be in full form by that time. Time will tell, but for now I don't see the Colt's unbeaten streak making it past Denver this Sunday.
Good points. I will admit. I agree with you, facing Pittsburgh would be tough for us. I do think New England is the best team in the league right now, but not unstoppable. Okay, maybe they are but not unbeatable. Just like in previous games against them, Indy will outscore them, if it comes down to a scoring game, which I believe it will, then Indy wins again. San Diego is going to have to pull their act together before I could even remotely consider them a threat. Phillip Rivers looks like a chump. I have only seen them play for part of one game, so I cannot say it dogmatically, but I definetly am not worried about them. Also, you can say the Colts go "lucky" all you want, but the wins against Tennesee and Houston prove how good they are. Being able to go be in tough situations and still come out with the win is the mark of a great team. Oh, and I was under the impression that picking off passes by Schaub was a good thing, I doubt that Matt was intending to throw them to Indy. I guess I could be wrong though.
I must say I'm a Patriots fan...but my wife is from Indy...so she's pulling for them...the blog looks great!
I've got to say you are right on about the colts, they are definitely doing great so far this season and with their leadership have a good run for the bowl this year
My point was that the Colts can hang that win on the two interceptions, otherwise they'd have lost. Not sure where you got the idea that I said interceptions were a bad thing...
Gotta say that I'm shocked that the Chiefs pulled one out in SD. Yes, the most boring team in football is 2-2 and tied for 1st in the AFC West. Best kept secret of the '07 draft...Dwayne Bowe. My man is racking it up!
Listen, the Cowboys are scary good. They've scored over 30 in each game. The 1st three games, TO looked like he did 4 years ago - dominant. On Sunday the Rams hounded him, and he only caught 3 passes for 30 something yards. What happens? Patrick Crayton goes Randy Moss for 184 and 2 TD's. That, my friends, is balance. And they say that Wade Phillips is a defensive minded coach? Prediction: Cowboys off. coordinator Jason Garrett will be a head coach in the 08 season.
The Kansas City Chiefs=JOKE
I agree with you about Dallas. I have seen them play on TV several times now. They are scary. A high powered offense and a stingy defense. I was researching their numbers a little bit ago, looking for a weakness, tough to find one, but it may be the special teams unit. They have not been bad by any stretch, but they could be better.
Post a Comment